- How you should use the Resume Builder
- How to set up your resume
- Troubleshooting tips
- Test resume
- Publish your resume
Learn how to use the resume builder, troubleshoot, and ensure your resume looks professional!
This tool is intended you help you build out your resume if you don't currently have one or if you want to start a new resume from scratch.
We've built the Resume Builder to provide a basic resume template. It works best if you simply fill in the template. If you leave some sections or fields blank, that won't affect the formatting. However, if you want to customize your resume formatting to a greater extent, the Resume Builder is not ideal.
Click on the "Resume Builder" tab in the nav bar across the top of your screen.
This will take you to the resume builder. Turn on the "Edit Mode" button to start editing and fill in the fields with your information.
How to add blocks
In some sections, you can add multiple blocks. For instance, you can add:
- Multiple education blocks (i.e., one for high school, one for undergrad, one for grad...)
- Multiple project blocks (each highlighting a different project)
- Multiple experience blocks (each featuring a different role), or multiple award blocks (each featuring its own award)
To add a block:
1. First click the "Add" button.
2. A new block will appear with several lines for you to fill in. The blocks differ from the rest of the template in that the greyed-out filler content will appear after you turn off Edit Mode. Because of this, you should make sure to fill in every line of the block, not leaving any blank. Do not enter spaces rather than words in any of these lines as that will mess up the formatting on your resume.
3. To remove a block, move your curser over the upper right hand corner of the block and a "Remove" button will appear.
Don't try to remove filler content
Other than the blue section titles on the far left and the Education, Project, Experience, and Award blocks, none of the greyed-out text filler content you see when in edit mode will appear on your resume when edit mode is turned off or when it's downloaded as a pdf.
Do not enter spaces to delete this content, as doing so is unnecessary and will make the formatting on a downloaded pdf version look weird.
Don't worry about empty sections
The blue section headers on the left will only appear on your resume when you've entered something in that section. If you leave a section blank, the section header will not appear – so no need to worry about empty sections appearing in the finished resume.
For example, if you don't have any awards you want to share, simply leave that section blank, and the header won't appear.
Enter only the specified information
Simply enter whatever the field asks you to and no more.
For example, when the section title says "Company Name," enter the company name and nothing else. Do not enter the company name then a bunch of spaces and then add the company location on the far right. Those extra spaces will come back to haunt you when you (or recruiters) download your resume: the spaces will cause untidy formatting and the location will no longer be neatly aligned on the far right.
Check for random spaces
It's also a good idea to do a quick check for extra spaces before sharing your resume. This is because if there are random, unneeded spaces in your resume, they can mess up the formatting when you or others download the resume as a pdf.
To check for and delete extra spaces, simply highlight the text in a section or line (Command + A). This will show you any spaces you might have accidentally added so you can delete them.
Check constantly to see what your resume looks like without edit mode turned on. It's easy – just toggle the Edit Mode button to turn edit mode on and off. Your resume saves automatically, so no need to save before toggling Edit Mode off.
It's also important to download the resume as a pdf. Recruiters will often download your resume as a pdf, so you want to make sure it looks good in that format.
Click the "Download As PDF" text, then open the downloaded version and make sure that everything looks as you'd like it to.
Don't see the "Download As PDF" text? That's likely because you're still in Edit Mode; turn Edit Mode off and it will reappear.
You can make your resume public then publish it to your profile, if you wish. We'll go over how to do each below.
Make your resume public
When you're ready, you can publish your resume (making it publicly available on the platform. This is optional, but sharing your resume will mean potential employers can easily find out more about you.
To publish your resume, simply toggle on the Make Public button. When the button is green, your resume is public.
You can easily un-publish your resume simply by toggling the Make Public button off again (it will appear grey when it's off).
Publish your resume to your profile
You can make your resume part of your profile by clicking the "Publish to Profile" text.
If you don't see the "Publish To Profile" text, that's likely because you're still in Edit Mode; turn Edit Mode off and it will reappear.
If you have second thoughts and want to remove your resume from your profile, simply click the "Remove From Profile" text.