- What you can do in your platform inbox
- Platform Inbox Basics
- Mentorship Hub Tools (for Long-Term Mentorships)
Your platform inbox is where you can access all your conversation threads.
In your inbox, you'll be able to:
- Respond to ongoing conversations and send attachments
- Schedule, accept, and decline meetings
- Initiate video calls
If you're in an active long-term mentorship, you'll also be able to:
- Access a private mentorship timeline where you can take notes
- Review, create, and complete mentorship goals and tasks
- Upload documents and share them with your mentor
1. Platform Inbox: Go to your inbox by clicking on the small envelope icon in the upper right of your screen.
2. Conversation Threads: Once in your inbox, you'll see a list of all your conversation threads on the left. Click on a thread to open it.
3. Status Bar: Once you've opened a conversation thread, you'll see the status of the thread across the top of the screen; this status bar will also indicate what possible next steps for you are.
4. Action Buttons: You'll see four icon buttons just below the status bar.
- Use the red ! button to report the user you're communicating with for inappropriate or unprofessional behavior.
- Use the blue calendar button to schedule a meeting with this person.
- Use the green camera button to initiate a video call with this person.
Note that our preferred browsers for video calls are Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox; Safari also works, but does not support screen-sharing. We cannot guarantee quality calls on other browsers, such as Internet Explorer.
- Use the grey X button to close this conversation. Once closed, conversation threads can't be reopened, and you won't be able to communicate further via that conversation thread.
5. Write a Reply: Below the message itself, you'll see a text box which you can type in to reply or send a follow-up to this user.
Add an attachment by clicking the blue "Add Attachment" text then uploading / linking to your attachment.
Send your reply/follow-up by clicking the green "Submit" button.
When you start a long-term mentorship, a new conversation thread will open between you and your mentor/mentee. This conversation thread will feature a Mentorship Hub with tools to help you structure your long-term mentorship.
Tools included in the Mentorship Hub are:
- Communication - This tab includes basic inbox functionality (see above).
- Timeline - This tab provides a auto-generated timeline of your mentorship, to which you can add private notes.
- Goals - This tab features shared and personal goals set by your site admin and to which you can add.
- Shared Files - On this tab, you can upload and share documents with your mentor/mentee.
We'll go over how you can use each of these features in more detail below.
In your timeline, you'll see an auto-generated summary of key events in your mentorship. We'll update this summary whenever you complete a goal, etc.
You can also add your own notes to the timeline. These notes will be visible only to you, not to your mentor/mentee.
On the Goals tab, you'll be able to look over all your goals, including those which are shared between you and your mentor/mentee and those with are assigned just to you and not visible to your mentor/mentee.
You can check goals off as you complete them - and we'll send you reminder emails when an uncompleted goal is approaching its due date.
You'll be able to edit and share some goals. This means you can change the name, description, or due date (by clicking the pencil icon on the far right) or either share goal with your mentor/mentee or make it private and visible only to you (by toggling on/off the button in the "Shared" column).
This tab allows you to share and get a second opinion on such things as resumes, cover letters, etc.
To upload a file, just click the blue "Add new file" button. Click on the File Name of an uploaded file to access it.
Note that all files that you upload to this tab will be visible to both you and your mentor/mentee.