- What you can do in your platform inbox
- Platform Inbox Basics
- Communications options
- Mentorship Hub Tools (for Long-Term Mentorships)
Every mentee or mentor who makes a connection on the platform uses the Inbox. This is where people meet, track goals, share files, take notes, and send and set meetings. You can chat from the Inbox in real-time, making it harder for you to miss messages.
What you can do in your platform inbox
In your inbox, you'll be able to:
- Respond to ongoing conversations and share files
- Take notes on your meetings
- Set goals to share with your connections
- Schedule, accept, reschedule, and decline meetings
- Initiate video calls
- Initiate phone calls
- Filter, search, and sort threads
- Be alerted for upcoming meetings
- See when your contacts are online
- Send real-time messages
Platform Inbox Basics
- Inbox: Go to your inbox by clicking on the small envelope icon in the upper right of your screen.
- Conversation Threads: Once in your inbox, you'll see a list of all your conversation threads on the left. Click on a thread to open it. You can also search and filter your communication threads.
- Action Buttons: You'll see four icon buttons just below the status bar.
- Click the three dots to access the following:
- View that connection’s profile.
- Archive or close your conversation with that connection.
- Report your connection for inappropriate or unprofessional behavior.
- Use the camera button. Initiate a video call with this connection.
- Preferred browsers for video calls are Google Chrome & Mozilla Firefox; Safari works, but does not support screen-sharing. We cannot guarantee quality calls on other browsers.
- Use the phone button to call someone on the platform without using your phone number.
- Use the calendar button to set a meeting with one of your connections. (see more below).
- Write a Reply: Write in the text box below the message you received.
- Add a link by clicking the chain links icon to the top left
- Add an attachment by clicking the paperclip icon to upload to your attachment.
- Add an emoji by clicking the smiley face icon.
- Send your reply/follow-up by clicking the Send button on the bottom right.
6. Schedule a meeting: Use the calendar to choose:
- How to meet
- Video Chat
- Phone Call
- Meeting Duration
- Your attachments (with accompanying description)
On the Goals tab, you'll be able to review your goals:
- Shared between you and your connection.
- Assigned just to you and not visible to your connection.
Check goals off as you complete them. We'll send you reminder emails when an uncompleted goal is approaching its due date.
You can edit and share goals. This means you can change the name, description, or due date (by clicking the pencil icon on the far right) or either share a goal with your connection or make it private and visible only to you (by toggling on/off the "Share Goal with" button).
If you don’t want reminders, you can disable them while editing the goal.
* To learn more about setting goals, visit Add Goals (Inbox).
This tab allows you to take notes on your conversations with your connections.
Come back to this tab during your follow up messaging. Your notes will remind you of what you discussed with your connection and what to look for in future conversations.
These notes are just for you. Others will not see your notes.
This tab allows you to view your shared files with your connections. These files were sent either directly from you in your messages or sent to you from your connection.
To upload a file, click the paperclip icon in your messages. Click on the File Name of an uploaded file to access it.
Note that all files that you upload to this tab will be visible to both you and your connection.
From the Inbox, you will find your options for a video chat or phone connection.
From your inbox, you can start and receive a video chat. Start by clicking the camera button in the top right of the Inbox to begin a video call:
Once you click the video icon your screen will appear like below:
Be sure to check the bottom to make sure your microphone and video are on during the call.
The above example shows the microphone and video ON
The above example shows the microphone OFF and video ON
The above example shows the microphone ON and video OFF
The above example shows the microphone and video OFF
If you click Join Now and see that your video chat partner is not on the call, you can nudge them to join you by clicking the Send Reminder button. You can also join any meeting using the phone bridge. The number of the phone bridge always remains the same for any PeopleGrove phone call. The Pin will change for each phone call.
During your call, you can choose between split-screen or speaker view. An indicator will be visible on your video feed which shows the internet connection strength in the form of bars. These bars will turn red if the signal strength is very low.
If necessary, you'll be prompted to join the call via dial-in.
You can also contact support if needed.
Along with the video, you have the option of calling someone on the platform without using your phone number.
To begin a call with one of your connections:
- Navigate to a message in your inbox from that individual.
- Click the phone icon in the top right (circled in green in the image below)
- A pop-up message will appear, providing a phone number for you to call with a PIN. Note: every PeopleGrove call contains the same phone number with a unique PIN.
When you request a meeting, you may also use the phone bridge. Using the phone bridge allows you to avoid using your personal phone number.
We now offer international phone lines for the UK, Canada, India, France, Spain, Australia, and New Zealand, with more to come!
You have 2 options when using the phone bridge.
- Dial into the call using the phone number and PIN provided.
- Click the box to "call me when the meeting starts" and add your phone number.
- Adding your phone number to receive a call when the meeting starts will not provide the other individual with your phone number.
Mentorship Hub Tools (for Long-Term Mentorships)
If you're in a formal, long-term mentorship, there will be one difference in your inbox - goals will already be filled in for you. Everything else looks the same.